Gods & Monsters

Godzilla Minus One was has stayed in my mind over the last few months for several reasons.

Other than it influenced me to wear my dinosaur feet slippers around the house while working and has very much been a mood boost especially on meeting-heavy days; a quick stomp to get coffee from the kitchen has much more purpose now. #remoteworking

The main reason is: I felt represented on screen. I’m not just talking about the big feets, big butt perspective, though it is great seeing pear shapes on centre-stage. I also often accidentally destroy downtown Tokyo.

The thing with this Godzilla, and the one from the original film, is the emotionless destruction. Godzilla ain’t mad, it ain’t malice it’s a cold-blooded force built to decimate. In their newest incarnation, this kaiju is not remotely subtle in regards to the annihilation it embodies.

As a tester, I am endlessly correcting others (but more often myself) when I say “I break things” or “I broke it” because honestly, I am a whirlwind of carnage. I apologise, I agonise and I anxiety but I continue to collide with code, crash into cascade failures and crumble changes to a crippled mess.

The more careful I try to be, the more chaos ensues. The more delicate, often the greater the damage. “Softly, softly” is “stompy, stompy” but I don’t do this malignantly. I cannot pretend there isn’t some mischievous glee in this ruin but like our glorious lizard it is meant without intent to specifically maim. I think I need to work on having some classic monster music so at least my rampage is heralded.

I accept Godzilla as my spirit animal, Cthulhu as my Lord and Saviour and seek absolution for my ruination.

@meowy24

#alwaysbetesting

Leave a comment